Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko (TV + Episode 13) – Final thoughts

Image

After a small break from anime, I finally finished watching an interesting anime – Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko. What makes this anime interesting to me? Mainly the way the story was presented.

To give a small plot overview, Niwa Makoto, a 16-year old guy moved to the city and transfered to a high-school there. The most typical beginning. There he meets 3 girls, who all seem to take an interest in him. All three have different personalities, however one of them is special – his cousin, Touwa Erio. Erio’s past is surrounded in mystery, and most of the explanations are left out of the anime – giving the viewer a chance to think of an ending themselves. Although this could be a bad technique in some anime, I think that in Denpa Onna it was used correctly. As the story progresses, we aren’t actually told much about Erio’s past and the reason she is in her currect situation. Instead, we are guided through the present day – seeing her and Makoto’s attempts to return her to a normal life.

Image

The main point of the story is the existence of aliens. The whole anime is like one big question, whether aliens exist, or not, and if they are actually walking right next to us. Although no definitie answer is given, some hints are there – and it is once again up to the viewer to interpret them. Another question of the anime is to what extent should we try to convince people of something that is true in our opinion? Is it really a right thing to do, when we convince somebody that they are just imagining stuff?

Thoughts about the ending (episode 13): Well, I think that the ending was good. Finally, we get at least a reasonable answer to the main question of the series. I believe that the esper girl really was an alien, as this would explain everything.

Image

Now, the characters. Most of them were likeable to me. Their personalities brought contrast to the scene, and this was good. Perhaps, unlike many other people, I mostly disliked Meme (Erio’s mother), but that comes from my general opinion on mothers in anime like Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko. Most character development was of course made by Erio – first accepting the truth, and then desperately trying to change her lifestyle and get back into the society.

Image

On the other hand, I have mixed feelings about the character design. I especially didn’t like the smiles on people’s faces. They were way too wide for my liking. However, this didn’t make facial expressions worse. The sparkles brought some mystery to the anime – I even read that the sparkles might have had an actual meaning in the story (and this theory seemed quite believable!). Everything else was also fine by my standards: fairly detailed scenes, clothes, faces etc. Erio’s voice seemed really annoying to me at first, but as I watched on, I grew to like it. It had so much of her character in it, that it simply could not be any better.

My final verdict? I gave it an 8. I’m not sure whether this is the right score, but it is what I chose, mainly because I liked to story which could be interpreted differently. Everything else was also great, so I rated it quite highly.

 

Posted on November 19, 2012, in Anime, Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko, TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What emotions did you have after each episode. Were you depressed, excited, laughing, hollow, etc? đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

